East and West Africa

Africa is a large and heterogeneous continent that faces numerous climatic hazards, such as floods and droughts. The challenge posed by natural hazards has been amplified by armed conflict, civil wars, political instability and chronic economic crises. Floods in Mozambique and Kenya in 1997-1998 and 2000 spurred major emergency relief efforts as many people lost their lives and thousands more were displaced.

Similarly, in 2009, many West African cities experienced torrential rainfalls resulting in death and property loss. Circulation models indicate that climate change impacts are significantly heightening both the frequency and intensity of climatic hazards in Africa, raising the likelihood of extreme events, including droughts and floods (IPCC 2007).

The countries included in East Africa (EA) are Burundi, Comoros, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mayotte, Mozambique, Réunion, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Zimbabwe (Figure below left). Western Africa (WA) includes Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Cote d'Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Saint Helena, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo (Figure below right).

western africa eastern africa




Disclaimer. The results contained in this website were produced within the CATALYST project "Capacity Development for Hazard Risk Reduction and Adaptation" funded under the FP7 by the European Commission. This website is the sole responsiblity of the CATALYST Project and does not represent the opinion of the European Community nor is the European community responsible for any use that might be made of the data appearing herein.
Media & Outreach
Think Tank
Restricted Area
Restricted Area